Contact Us   

State Champs
State Recognition
Class of 2001
Class of 2002
Class of 2003
Class of 2004
Class of 2005
Class of 2006
Class of 2007
Class of 2008
Class of 2009
Class of 2010
Class of 2011
Class of 2012
Class of 2013
Class of 2015
Midview Schools
Contact Us


P.O. Box 209
Grafton, OH 44044






Class of 2002

1940-41 Eaton Basketball Team


Team Members
Steve Balogh
Tony Ertl
Dave Hawke
John Lyons
Bob Rothel
Gene Sievert
Harold Tompkins
Sterling Tite
Wayne Tite
Carl Ziehm

click image to enlarge


horizontal rule

Eaton High School enjoyed a remarkable era in basketball in the twenty-seven years of the school’s existence and in one six year stretch in the late 30’s and early 40’s, compiled a record of 106 wins and 13 losses. Among the great teams responsible for that record, the 1940-41 team posted a record of 20 wins and 1 loss. The school’s best single season record. They averaged 48 points per game to their opponents’ 30 points. Three players on that team, Dave “Daver” Hawke 286 pts., honorary team captain, Bob Rothel 284 pts., most valuable player and Carl Ziehm 187 pts., were selected on the first Chronicle Telegram All Lorain County “Class B” League Team. They captured three of the five spots. Other members of the “Brown and Gold” were Wayne Tite, Sterling Tite, John Lyons, Steve Balogh, Gene Sievert, Tony Ertl and Harold Tompkins. Dave Hawke and Carl Ziehm were also selected to the Lorain Journal’s All Sectional Team. Their coach was John Sakola.

horizontal rule

Copyright © 2003-16  MAHOF - All Rights Reserved